The Status of Tribal Women in Northeast India: Responding to India's Social Challenges.



Northeast India, considered as one of most culturally diverse regions of the world, is a land inhabited by more than 200 fascinating tribes. It is no wonder the region has ever-since captured the imaginations of anthropologists from all over the world.

     The north eastern part of India shares its boundary with China, Nepal, Bhutan, Myanmar and Bangladesh. Northeast India comprises of eight states. They are Mizoram, Arunachal Pradesh, Sikkim, Assam, Manipur, Nagaland, Meghalaya and Tripura. Nagaland and Manipur share their boundary with Myanmar. Meghalaya and Tripura share it with Bangladesh whereas Assam shares it’s with Bhutan. Sikkim shares its boundary with China, Nepal, and Bhutan. Mizoram shares with Bangladesh and Myanmar, and Arunachal Pradesh have their boundaries shared with China and Myanmar. The closeness of the region so many international borders have left the region much unexplored due to its sensitivity.

Full Text:



  • There are currently no refbacks.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.


EduPedia Publications Pvt Ltd, D-351, Prem Nagar-2, Suleman Nagar, Kirari, Nagloi, New Delhi PIN-Code 110086, India Through Phone Call us now: +919958037887 or +919557022047

All published Articles are Open Access at

Paper submission: or


Mobile:                  +919557022047 & +919958037887


Journals Maintained and Hosted by

EduPedia Publications (P) Ltd in Association with Other Institutional Partners

Pen2Print and IJR are registered trademark of the Edupedia Publications Pvt Ltd.