Legislative Assembly and Political Parties of Punjab during Provincial Autonomy: 1937-47

Ms. Kirtee, M. L. Sehgal


This research article gives a brief history of the role played by the powerful Unionist Party who ruled  Punjab twice during the Provincial Autonomy:once in 1937-46 with absolute majority (its term extended due to WW-II)  both under Sikandar Hayat Khan and  Khizr Hayat Khan and then from 1946- 1947 under Khizr Hayat Khan, in coalition with  Congress  and Akalis, and  prevented Muslim League, who passed resolution of the formation of separate Pakistan, from forming the last Government. Although, the Unionists were pro-British and had the dominion status as their political goal while both Congress and Akalis stood for complete Independence of India, yet the three joined hands as they had a secular outlook  and were against the formation of separate Pakistan. The article also discusses Sikandar-Jinnah Pact, Sikandar-Baldev Pact, reasons for the decline of Unionists and  phenomenal rise of Muslim League; weakness of Congress in Punjab, its splinter groups - Congress Nationalist Party and Congress Sikh Party; The Khalsa National Party, Socialists, Congress Nationals, Parliamentary Labor Board, Ittehad-i-Millat, The Ahrars and The Hindu  Sabha.

Full Text:


Copyright (c) 2017 Edupedia Publications Pvt Ltd

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.


All published Articles are Open Access at  https://journals.pen2print.org/index.php/ijr/ 

Paper submission: ijr@pen2print.org